YRCA 2020. Who wins? You decide!

The Young Reader’s Choice Award is the oldest children’s choice award in North America.  Started in 1940 by Harry Hartman, a Seattle publisher, it includes Alaska, Washington, Montana, Idaho, British Columbia, and Alberta. Students, teachers, and librarians nominate titles, but only kids get to determine the winner. There are three divisions: Junior (grades 4-6), Intermediate (grades 7-9), and Senior (grades 10-12), but you can read and vote in every division, no matter your grade.

2020 Nominees Coming Soon

The 2019 winners are: 

  • Junior Division - Dog Man by Dav Pilkey
  • Intermediate Division - Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan
  • Senior Division - Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Official 2019 YRCA Nominees

Junior Division (Grades 4-6)

  • Dog Man by Dav Pilkey
  • Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill
  • It Ain’t so Awful Falafel by Firoozeh Dumas
  • The Key to Extraordinary by Natalie Lloyd
  • Ms. Bixby’s Last Day by John David Anderson
  • Pax by Sara Pennypacker
  • The Wild Robot by Peter Brown
  • The Inn Between by Marina Cohen

Intermediate Division (Grades 7-9)

  • Booked by Kwame Alexander
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer
  • Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordian
  • The Skeleton Tree by Iain Lawrence
  • Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman
  • Replica by Lauren Oliver
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn
  • Hamilton OCDaniel by Wesley King


Senior Division (Grades 10-12)

  • The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
  • Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston
  • We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson
  • Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
  • Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
  • Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs
  • The Unbeatable Squirrel Beats Up the Marvel Universe by Ryan North
  • Passsenger by Alexandra Bracken


2018 Winners

Junior Division:

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson – received 3,394 votes

Intermediate Division:

Magnus Chase – The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan – received 1,087 votes
Senior Division:

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – received 640 votes

2017 Winners

Junior Division:

El Deafo by Cece Bell

Intermediate Division:

The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
Senior Division:

Four by Veronica Roth


chat loading...